Sense and Sensibility

A while ago, I had just completed reading ‘Sense and Sensibility’ by Jane Austen, the plot was actually predictable as many stories nowadays seems to copy the story line but I can’t seem to keep my eyes of this novel. The way Jane Austen narrates it is indeed astounding, leaving me to just walk along with the story and enjoy it, there were indeed times when I predicted the ending but her style makes me think that I should not skip any parts.

This story talks about two sisters, Marianne and Elinor Dashwood, they were indeed opposites but they still manage to have that bond as they were searching for the love of their love. Their journey to find the right partner of their life was indeed a challenge, the ending was also beyond my expectations. Albeit one was suffering a problem with the one whom they thought they would end up with, each of them still shows their strong support to each other, reflecting the unbreakable bond within them.

To be honest, I can’t seem to describe on how much do I adore the relation of Elinor and Marianne, their bond as sisters is indeed perplexing. They might lost the fortune which they once had due to the death of their father but they didn’t seemed to complain much when they moved to Barton which was a small property, compared to their previous home, Norland Park, but they still managed to adjust.

About the title, I must say that it describes the sisters really well as Elinor is a person with more sense whilst Marianne is what I found as the sensible one. And as you go further in the story, you could conclude that in life we need to have both sense and sensibility as having one of them alone is not enough. I do have a high interest in this novel and I am truly looking forward to more romance works by the astounding Jane Austen as I really enjoyed reading this.

Leave a Reply

